Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Award Taylor Swift

Taylor Swift scores another award this year given by the NSAI (Nashville Songwriters Association International), a sister organization of the NaSHOF, as the Songwriter/Artist of the Year. Swift has held this award for a successive six years in a row, breaking the NSAI record. Her self-written songs that brought her the award were, “Begin Again,” “I Knew You Were Trouble,” “Red” and “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”.

2011 Nashville Songwriters Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony

Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame (NaSHOF) is a non-profit organization dedicated to honoring and preserving the songwriting legacy that is uniquely associated with the Nashville music community. Its purpose is to educate, celebrate and archive the achievements and   contributions made by members of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame to the world.

Swift’s success continues despite her unsuccessful relationships. Swift has received a couple of awards this year including Grammy’s Best Song Written for Visual Media for the song “Safe & Sound”; Billboards Music Awards Top Billboard 200 Album and Top Country Album for the song “Red” and Top Country Song for “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”; Billboard Mid-Year Music Awards First Half MVP, Favorite 200 No. 1 Album for “Red” and Best Tour for the “Red Tour”; BMI Awards Winning Song for “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”; Radio Disney Music Awards Song of the Year for “I Knew You Were Trouble” and Best Break Up Song for “We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together”; Metrolyric End of the Year Awards Break Up Lyric of the Year. This list just goes on and on with still a couple of pending nominations.

Included in the NSAI awards are, Songwriter of the Year Rodney Clawson; Song of the Year “I Drive Your Truck” by Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, and Jimmy Yeary.

The Nashville Hall of Fame held their 43rd Anniversary Dinner and Induction Ceremony at the Music City Center last October 13th. Pat Alger, the Board Chair of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Foundation and a hall of famer himself, has emphasized the transition of their organization, “With the opening of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Gallery at the Music City Center earlier this year, 2013 marked a major milestone for the organization. We are honored to welcome our latest Hall of Fame members as the first new class to soon have their names added to the Gallery and engraved on Songwriters’ Square.”

The inducted Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame artists were Randy Owen, Will Jennings, Layng Martine, Jr. and Jeffrey Steele. The Hall of Famer’s names are to be written and engraved in the newly constructed Hall of Fame Gallery in the Music City Center itself.

Pat Alger (left), Layng Martine, Jr., Randy Owen, Jeffrey Steele and Mark Ford Photo Credit: Bev Moser


The organization also introduced their very first executive director, Mark Ford. This position includes strategic planning, fund raising, education, operations and brand development for the non-profit. As Pat Alger said, “Following the celebration of the new Hall of Fame in the Music City Center, we are excited to welcome Mark as our organization’s first Executive Director.  His long-standing personal relationship with our music community – and songwriters especially – coupled with his knowledge, experience and commitment to the Hall of Fame, make him the ideal person to lead us into the future.”


Besides the Songwriter Achievement Awards by the NSAI, they picked out 10 songs that were entitled “The Songs I’d Wish I’d Written”, the songs included: “Better Dig Two” (Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Trevor Rosen / recorded by The Band Perry), “Cruise” (Tyler Hubbard, Brian Kelley, Joey Moi, Chase Rice, Jesse Rice / recorded by Florida Georgia Line),“Hard To Love” (Ben Glover, Billy Montana, John Ozier / recorded by Lee Brice), “Highway Don’t Care” (Mark Irwin, Josh Kear, Brad Warren, Brett Warren / recorded by Tim McGraw & Taylor Swift), “I Drive Your Truck” (Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, Jimmy Yeary / recorded by Lee Brice), “Like Jesus Does” (Casey Beathard, Monty Criswell / recorded by Eric Church), “Mama’s Broken Heart” (Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves / recorded by Miranda Lambert), “Merry Go ’Round ” (Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves, Josh Osborne / recorded by Kacey Musgraves), “Pontoon” (Barry Dean, Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird / recorded by Little Big Town) and “Wagon Wheel” (Bob Dylan, Ketch Secor / recorded by Darius Rucker).


Who is your favorite country singer and/or songwriter? Leave your comments y’all!

Latest Comments
  1. Lorraine Jacobs November 1, 2013

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *